2020-06-17

突破重围: 纯果汁、含果汁饮料和非碳酸饮料行业正面临瞬息万变的世界

由于健康趋势发生变化,除了主要市场中消费者需求在不断下降,许多纯果汁、含果汁饮料和非碳酸饮料生产商目前还面临着水供应减少和气候变化等问题。 我们调查了当今饮料行业面临的有关健康、可持续发展、环境和消费者需求等方面的趋势、挑战和机遇。

我们面临的挑战包括气候变化、水资源短缺和消费者健康

“果汁和苏打一样糟糕”。 “每天少喝一杯果汁可大大降低患糖尿病的风险”。 “喝果汁会致癌症”。在过去十年中,几乎每周都有负面的头条新闻打击着果汁和果肉果汁生产商,而且消费者也注意到了这些新闻。

在短期内,预计中国的果汁消费量将继续增长4%以上1,美国农业部于2019年夏季发布的数据显示,美国人的平均饮用量仅有该行业在1990年代后期达到峰值时平均饮用量的一半2。 西欧的果汁消费也正在趋于平缓,2019年仅增长约1%3

“这是一个大问题。 美国和欧洲的消费量已遭遇十年下滑,这可能是由于糖分问题所致。那么,行业该如何应对呢?”国际果蔬汁协会执行董事John Collins问道。

联合国教科文组织总干事NicholasHodac认为,作为欧洲工业的代表,软饮料行业几十年来一直面临着同样的问题。 “这并不是几年前开始发生的;人们有理由认为减少糖分的历史可以追溯到1970年代。”他说。

同时,饮料生产商也面临着由于气候变化带来的压力,这对水果种植者产生影响,并对该行业提出新的要求,必须在生产、包装和运输方面增加采购、能源与水利用的可持续发展。

通过创新实现增长

利乐全球业务洞察和分析经理GauravDutt认为果汁生产商已经在寻找解决增长问题的方法。 “在未来三年,我们预测行业总体上将出现增长,全球复合年增长率在1%到2%之间,”他预言道。

消费从未下降的亚洲和东南亚市场将继续扩大。 随着行业的创新产品推出,欧洲和美洲部分市场的增长将开始复苏。

“制造商已经迅速做出反应,”Dutt解释道。 “他们知道必须开发解决方案以应对这一发展趋势,他们正致力于开发我们所说的 ‘功能型果汁’。”

这包括迎合用餐替代趋势的“超级水果”增强型果汁,谷物或蛋白质混合型果汁,成分尽可能少的“清洁标签”产品以及低糖果汁。

市场的另一趋势是,非碳酸饮料和软饮料行业向低热量和无热量产品转变目前这一品类在欧洲平均销售占比为24%,在某些市场超过40%。

蔬菜汁含糖量约为橙汁的四分之一,因此将其与其他汁料混合可以减少总糖含量。 “我们发现蔬菜汁越来越盛行,也不再是单一口味,混合口味的消费趋势正在增长。”Collins说。

非碳酸饮料生产商也正在重新制定配方以减少糖含量。 Hodac表示,他们还减少了单份容量,推出了一系列新的保健产品,例如冰茶和调味饮用水。

气候变化与水资源挑战

气候变化正日益影响果汁和果肉果汁行业,飓风会经常袭击佛罗里达州和加勒比海的橙子种植区,而中美洲、南美洲以及加利福尼亚和其他地区的种植者则受到干旱天气的影响。Dutt说,气候变化也影响了他的祖国印度的农民。

“我来自印度的农耕地带,那里的农民苦不堪言,因为不该下雨时却天降大水,而应该下雨偏偏持续干旱。”

Collins说,大型种植者也越来越关心自己的水足迹。 “他们会采取更为小心用水的措施,如收集天然水和使用智能灌溉技术。”

水资源是饮料行业的发展关键,水约占饮料成分的90%。Hodac表示,20多年来,一些重大项目始终将提高用水效率、减少用水、保护水资源作为作为核心目标,例如多瑙河清理工程等。 “制造业的目标是优化用水并适当处理废水。 我们有多家成员公司正在显著提高水资源的利用效率——有的公司在2018年达到100%。生产过程中产生的废水,如冷却和冲洗用水,已在内部重新用于清洁卡车和地板。”

可持续发展需求不断增长

随着一些国家现在开始采取更加果断的措施来应对气候变化,生产商的压力将越来越大,他们必须减少对能源和水的消耗,使用更可持续的包装,并减少运输过程中的能源使用。

首先是减少能源和用水,这可以通过投资新的加工技术来实现。

Dutt预测纯果汁、含果汁饮料和非碳酸饮料生产商将面临越来越严格的法规,迫使他们减少消耗能源,否则会受到高额罚款。 他认为来自消费者的压力目前主要集中在包装和不断增长的加工过程,并开始关心生产过程中能源和水的消耗。

“如果作为制造商,您对此无动于衷,不采取任何措施,那么消费者就不会对您的产品有任何兴趣。 这会对您在未来市场中的运作方式产生重大影响。”

由于大多数水果产于热带地区,远离最大的市场,因此饮料行业将努力减少水果的运输 但是所谓的“食物里程”对水果总碳足迹的影响要比大多数人想象的要小,在欧洲用玻璃温室种植并在当地消费的水果和蔬菜,相比在热带地区种植并从海上进口,通常有更大的碳足迹。

Hodac表示,他的组织成员正致力于在任何可能的地方提高能源效率,节约和减少能源。 “在过去的十年中,通过在工厂中使用新的节能技术以及冷却和分配系统,许多制造商和装瓶厂的二氧化碳排放量减少了一半。”

当地的英雄人物

对本地产品的偏好正从欧洲和美国蔓延到其他市场,而这不仅仅是环境原因。 例如,印度消费者现在希望在他们的果汁中混合姜黄和苦瓜果等当地食材。

果汁生产商还要承受确保其使用的水果来自负责任采购渠道的压力。 根据可持续贸易非政府组织IDH发起的“可持续果汁倡议”,世界上最大的13家果汁生产商、搅拌机制造商和装瓶厂承诺,到2030年仅使用100%可持续采购的果汁原料。

霍达克说,他在非碳酸饮料生产商中也注意到了类似的趋势。 “这不仅在于当地风味,还关乎产品是否必须达到一定的可持续发展要求。 您在非碳酸饮料行业也同样可以看到消费者对有机食品、生物基食品不断增长的强大趋势。”

Dutt预计在未来十年内这种需求将会出现增长。“我认为推动果汁行业发生这一转变的两个主要趋势首先是与糖相关的身体健康,其次是——这一点更为重要——消费者要求的可持续发展和可追溯性。”

如果饮料生产商继续保持今天的创造力,那么那些令人沮丧的头条新闻应该会逐渐消失。

纯果汁、含果汁饮料和非碳酸饮料行业的可持续发展面临哪些挑战和机遇,您对此感兴趣吗?请收听我们的新播客——Juicecast!

一些关键数据: 

2017年,美国人一年仅消费20升果汁4。 这比过去50年的任何时候都少。

其中非碳酸饮料的表现优于果汁,预计在2020-2023年全球收入的年复合增长率将达到5%5。 中国8%的年增长率抵消了美国和欧洲1.7%和2.6%的疲弱增长。

果汁生产耗水量巨大。 根据美国地质调查局的数据,种植一个橙子需要50升水,而生产一杯橙汁需要200升水6

编者注: 这些预测均在冠状病毒危机之前做出,未将该流行病可能带来的长期经济影响纳入考虑。

参考文献:

1. https://www.statista.com/outlook/20030000/117/juices/china 引用: 2020年1月

 2. https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/2019-09-27/american-shoppers-spurn-orange-juice-for-for-fresh-fruit引用:2020年1月

 3. https://www.statista.com/outlook/20030000/102/juices/europe引用: 2020年1月

​ 4. https://www.statista.com/statistics/257149/per-capita-consumption-of-fruit-juices-in-the-us/引用: 2020年1月

5. https://www.statista.com/outlook/20020200/100/non-carbonated-soft-drinks/worldwide引用: 2020年1月

6. ​https://water.usgs.gov/edu/activity-watercontent.php引用: 2020年1月

2020-06-17

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The big squeeze: the juice, nectar and still drinks industry confronts a changing world

Already suffering from reduced consumer demand in key markets because of the health trend, many juice, nectar and still drinks producers now face dwindling water supplies and a changing climate. We look into the trends, challenges and opportunities around health, sustainability, the environment, and consumer demand facing the beverage industry today.​

Climate change, water scarcity and consumer health are among challenges

‘Fruit juice is as bad as soda’. ‘Cutting a glass of juice a day sharply reduces diabetes risk’. ‘Fruit juices linked to cancer’. Negative headlines have hit juice and nectar producers almost weekly over the past decade – and consumers have noticed. ​

While juice consumption is expected to continue growing in China by more than 4% in the short term1, figures released during summer 2019 by the US Department of Agriculture showed that the average American was drinking about half what they drank when the industry hit its US peak in the late 1990s2. Juice consumption in western Europe also is flatlining, up​ by only about 1% in 20193.​

“It’s a big problem. Consumption has faced a ten-year decline in the US and Europe, probably due to the sugar issue. So how does the industry tackle it?” asks John Collins, Executive Director of the International Fruit & Vegetable Juice Association. ​

The soft and still drinks industry has faced the same problem for decades, according to Nicholas Hodac, Director General of UNESDA, which represents the industry in Europe. “It’s not something that started just a few years ago; one could argue that sugar reduction could be traced back to the 1970s,” he says.  ​

At the same time, beverage producers are facing pressure as a result of climate change, which is affecting fruit growers and putting new demands on the industry to increase the sustainability of sourcing, energy and water use in production, packing and transport.  ​

Growth through innovation ​

Gaurav Dutt, Global Business Insights and Analytics Manager at Tetra Pak, believes juice producers are already on the way to finding an answer to the growth problem. “In the coming three years, we forecast that we will see growth coming in from an overall perspective, with a compound annual growth rate of, let’s say, between 1% to 2% globally,” he predicts.   ​

Markets in Asia and Southeast Asia, where consumption never declined, will continue to expand. Growth will meanwhile return to parts of Europe and the Americas, as the industry launches innovative products.  ​

“Manufacturers have been quick to react,” Dutt explains. "They understood that they needed to develop solutions to take care of this trend, and what they are doing is moving towards what we call ‘value-added juices’.” ​

These include juices enhanced with so-called 'super fruits', juices mixed with cereal or proteins to cater to the meal replacement trend, ‘clean label’ products with as few ingredients as possible, and reduced-sugar fruit juice.  ​

This follows the shift in the still drinks and soft drink industries towards low and no calorie products, with the category now making up an average of 24 percent of sales in Europe, and more than 40 percent in some markets.  ​

Vegetable juice contains about a quarter of the sugar found in orange juice, so blending it with other juices can reduce overall sugar content. "We see vegetable juices becoming more popular, and moving away from single flavours towards mixtures is a growing trend,” says Collins.  ​

Still drinks producers are also reformulating their recipes to reduce sugar content. They have at the same time moved to reduce portion sizes and launched a range of new health products such as iced teas and flavoured waters, Hodac says. ​

Climate change and water challenges ​

Climate change is increasingly affecting the juice and nectar industry, with hurricanes hitting orange-growing areas in Florida and the Caribbean, while growers in Central and South America, California and elsewhere, are affected by drought. Dutt says that the changing climate has also affected farmers in his home country of India. ​

“I come from the farming belt of India, and farmers there are not happy, because it’s raining when it’s not supposed to rain, and it’s a drought when it is supposed to rain.” ​

Collins says that large growers were also becoming increasingly conscious of their water footprint. “They will take steps to be more careful with their water usage, collecting from natural water sources, and using smart irrigation technology.” ​

Water is a key ingredient for the still drinks industry, with water representing some 90% of a beverage’s composition. Hodac says that water efficiency, reduction, conservation and protection have been a core focus for more than 20 years with high profile projects such as the cleaning up of the Danube. “Manufacturing operations aim to optimise water use and treat wastewater appropriately. Several of our member companies are replenishing a significant percentage of the water they use – some achieving up to 100% in 2018.  Wastewater from production processes such as cooling and rinsing is also being reused internally to clean trucks and floors.” ​

Growing demands for sustainability  ​

With some countries now starting to take more decisive steps to combat climate change, pressure will grow on producers to reduce their use of energy and water, to use more sustainable packaging, and to reduce energy used in transport.  ​

The first of these – reduction of energy and water – can be achieved by investing in new processing techniques.  ​

Dutt predicts that juice, nectar and still drinks producers will face increasingly tough regulation forcing them to reduce energy use or pay heavy fines. And he expects consumer pressure, now mainly focused on packaging and the growing process, to begin to bear on energy and water use in production too.   ​

“If, as a manufacturer, you're not doing something about it, you're not seen doing something about it, you are not in the good books of consumers. And that can have a significant impact on how you are able to operate in the markets tomorrow.” ​

With most fruit produced in the tropics, far from the biggest markets, the industry will struggle to reduce the amount of transport it uses. But the impact of so-called food miles on fruits’ total carbon footprint is less than most assume, with fruits and vegetables grown under glass in Europe and then consumed there often having a larger carbon footprint than those grown in the tropics and imported by sea.  ​

Hodac says that his organization’s members are focused on driving energy efficiency, conservation and reduction wherever possible. “CO2 emissions have been halved in many manufacturing and bottling plants over the past ten years through the use of new energy-efficient technologies in plants, and also cooling and distribution systems.” ​

​Local heroes ​

The preference for local produce is spreading from Europe and the US to other markets, and not only for environmental reasons. Indian consumers, for example, now want local ingredients such as turmeric and kokum fruit in their juice blends. ​

Juice producers are also under pressure to ensure that the fruit they use is ethically sourced. Thirteen of the world's biggest juice producers, blenders, and bottlers have committed to only use 100% sustainably sourced juice by 2030, under the Sustainable Juice Initiative developed by IDH, a sustainable trade NGO.   ​

Hodac says he sees a similar trend among still drinks producers. “It’s not just local flavours but also whether your products reach certain sustainability requirements. There has been a huge trend towards organic, bio foods, and that’s something you also witness in the still drinks industry.”  ​

Dutt says he expects this demand to intensify over the coming decade.  “I think the two big trends driving this shift in the juices industry are health, related to sugar, and secondly and more importantly, the sustainability and traceability demanded by the consumers.” ​

If beverage producers continue to be as creative as it is today, those bad headlines should start to fade away.​

​Interested in the juice, nectar and still drinks industry’s sustainability challenges and opportunities? Listen to our new podcasts – Juicecast!   ​​

Some key figures: 

In 2017 Americans consumed just 20 litres of juice a year4. This is less than at any time in the last 50 years.

The still drinks segment is outperforming juice, with compound annual growth in revenues expected to reach 5% worldwide from 2020-20235. Annual growth of 8% in China is offsetting weaker growth of 1.7% and 2.6% in the US and Europe.

Juice production is extremely water intensive. According to the US Geological Survey, it takes 50 litres of water to grow a single orange, but 200 litres to make a single glass of orange juice6.

Editor’s note: These predictions were made ahead of the coronavirus crisis and do not take account of possible long-term economic effects of the pandemic.

References: ​

1. https://www.statista.com/outlook/20030000/117/juices/china Cited: January 2020​

 2. https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/2019-09-27/american-shoppers-spurn-orange-juice-for-for-fresh-fruit Cited: January 2020​

 3. https://www.statista.com/outlook/20030000/102/juices/europe Cited: January 2020​

​ 4. https://www.statista.com/statistics/257149/per-capita-consumption-of-fruit-juices-in-the-us/ Cited: January 2020​

5. https://www.statista.com/outlook/20020200/100/non-carbonated-soft-drinks/worldwide Cited: January 2020​

6. ​https://water.usgs.gov/edu/activity-watercontent.php Cited: January 2020